26th June 2017

Exclusive: Watch Blackwater Conspiracy‘s brand new video

Blackwater Conspiracy have given Ramblin’ Man an exclusive preview of a song from their brand new debut album. Shootin’ The Breeze.

The Northern Irish rockers, who play the Rising Stage on Sunday July 30, have released a video for Blackwater Swagger, the, well… swaggering opening track to the album. It finds the five-piece putting a distinctly modern spin on the good time rock’n’roll of the Rolling Stones and the Black Crowes. “We’re drawing on all our classic influences, but making it our own,” says singer/guitarist Phil Conalane, and we’re not about to argue with him.

Blackwater Conspiracy formed in County Tyrone on the early 00s as the AC/DC-influenced Million Dollar Reload. They literally changed their name and their sound halfway though a show, unveiling a new backdrop mid-set.

“We just decided we wanted to do something that was a little more us,” says Conalane of the band’s new musical direction. “We were out on tour with Blackberry Smoke a couple of years ago and it opened our yes to the possibility of the music we wanted to make.”

It was a smart move. We’ve heard the new album, and it’s an instant classic. On songs like Blackwater Swagger, Monday Club, the slow-burning title track and the epic Decadent Highway, they more than match their influences. The fact that it was partly recorded at the legendary Rockfield Studios in Wales shows how much ambition they have.

“Rockfield was great,” says Conalane. “We recorded in the studio where Black Sabbath and David Bowie and Oasis and all the rest had done a lot of work. But the thing that blew our mind was that there was a grand piano in the corner, and the owner proceeded to tell us that Freddie Mercury had recorded Bohemian Rhapsody on it. Of course, our piano player was, like, ‘I’ve gotta play it!’”

Shootin’ The Breeze is released on July 28 – the same day as Ramblin’ Man kicks off. The tracklisting runs as follows:


1 Blackwater Swagger

2 Monday Club

3 Waitin’ On Hollywood

4 Penny for Your Dirty Mind

5 Decadent Highway

6 Hanging Tree

7 ’85 Rockstar

8 Shoot the Breeze

9 President Joe

10 Roll the Dice


Vinyl only bonus tracks:

11 Under Your Skin

12 Blackheart

13 Anything Goes

14  Ain’t No Fool Like A Fool Doing Time (Demo)


You can buy tickets to see Blackwater Conspiracy at Ramblin’ Man here.